Alarm Ordinance Enacted
Town Council has enacted an ordinance concerning the installation of burglar alarms and false alarms which went into effect October 1, 2004. Studies have shown that between 97% and 99% of all alarms are false and the most common cause of false alarms is user error. The goal of this ordinance is to reduce the number of false alarms reported to the police. This in turn will lead to a more efficient and cost effective use of police resources.
Cities and towns that have implemented and enforce an alarm management ordinance that is recommended by both the International Association of Chiefs of Police and the alarm industry have experienced a 50% reduction in false alarms. Phoenix, Arizona found that 88% of the alarm users have never paid a fine or surcharge due to false alarms after an alarm ordinance was implemented. Charlotte, North Carolina found that 92% of that city’s alarm users have never paid a fine due to false alarms.
The alarm ordinance requires the yearly registration of all alarms, including those that are not monitored by an alarm service. The initial registration of an alarm is $25.00. Yearly registrations expire each October and there is a $10.00 per year renewal registration fee for each alarm site. Alarm systems that are installed during the year must be registered prior to activation. The Police Department is working with alarm installers so they will be able to assist their new alarm clients with the registration process. Alarm installers are also required to instruct new alarm users on the proper operation of the alarm system.
The goal of the ordinance is the reduction of false alarms through voluntary compliance, but in some case that does not occur. Therefore, the ordinance incorporates a surcharge schedule for frequent alarm abusers. The schedule begins at $75.00 for the third false alarm for an alarm site in any twelve month period and escalates to a maximum of $200.00 per false alarm for six or more alarms in any twelve month period. Alarm response may also be suspended if seven or more false alarms are received from a site in any twelve month period.
To register an alarm for the first time, alarm users must complete an Alarm Registration Form for each alarm site and mail it, along with a check for $25.00 for each alarm site to the Glastonbury Police Department, P.O. Box 535, Glastonbury, CT. 06033. Invoices for the $10.00 renewal fee will be mailed to alarm users in September of each year. Alarm users may also bring the completed alarm form and the check to the Glastonbury Police Department which is located at 2108 Main Street in Glastonbury.
Alarm Registration Forms may be obtained at the Glastonbury Police Department or by downloading them from the link posted below. The full burglar alarm ordinance may be viewed by following the link posted below.
Questions may be directed to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Last updated: 10/2/2014 12:00:37 PM